Cosmetic Animal Testing… The Ugly Behind Beauty

Photo taken from Google Images

Eyeliner, mascara, lip gloss and hairspray are essentials to many women when starting their day. When putting on  mascara it feels great to know it’s a safe product and you’re not going to go blind because of it. But next time you’re beautifying your face, look at the cosmetics you use, was the product animal tested? Now think of the animals who actually have gone blind from of it.

Although many agree that products should be tested for the safety of humans, no law requires that cosmetics and household products be tested on animals. Every year millions of animals are poisoned, burned, blinded and killed in barbaric animal testing methods. Even though the results of animal tests are often unreliable or not applicable to humans, rats, mice, guinea pigs, rabbits, and other animals are forced to swallow or inhale massive quantities of a test substance or endure the pain of a chemical eating away at their sensitive eyes and skin.

Watch this video “Testing 1,2,3” for a better picture of what is really going on.

Although the demand for products not tested on animals is increasing, some companies such as SC Johnson, Johnson and Johnson and Unilever are still using animal testing because they have done it for so long and simply do not have the vision to try new and better ways.

Many alternatives to animal testing are available today. Instead of measuring how long it takes a chemical to burn away the cornea of a rabbit’s eye, manufacturers can now drop that chemical onto donated human corneas. Other effective and sophisticated alternatives like Episkin®, use artificial human skin that can replace some animal tests in a fraction of the time and cost. Technologies like these are being continually developed.These technologies can give a better idea of what the products can do to humans and not animals.

How you can help:

To help stop this unnecessary animal cruelty, all you need to do is be a more conscious consumer. Next time you are shopping for cosmetics including any personal-care products such as hairspray, shampoo and even deodorant, check  the labels to see if the product is animal tested.Sometimes it can be hard to tell what products are cruelty-free because of all of the different ways it can be conveyed on the package. The main standard suggested is the Leaping Bunny, which was put out by the Coalition for Consumer Information on Cosmetics’ (CCIC). The Leaping Bunny Program administers a cruelty-free standard and the internationally recognized Leaping Bunny Logo for companies producing cosmetic, personal care, and household products.

PETA has also compiled a list of companies who do not test. You can check this list to see if the products you use made the list or search the list for your next cruelty-free purchase.

What do you think about animal testing? Do you plan on ditching any of your products for  cruelty-free ones?

6 thoughts on “Cosmetic Animal Testing… The Ugly Behind Beauty

  1. Sasha,

    This topic is one many people don’t think about, or just completely forget about. I know that I have always seen and heard the horrific things that testers do to animals just to see if their product is safe to sell to the public, but ten minutes later I’m thinking about something else.

    I’ve always been a huge animal lover since I was little. I always wanted to become a veterinarian until I realized I wasn’t very good at science 😦 This post made me realize that I really can start buying products that are not tested on animals, and that there are different ways to test products without harming animals. I had never heard of Episkin testing or using donated organs to test on. The list you posted with all the companies who don’t test on animals is extremely helpful too!

    What are some of your favorite cruelty-free products that you buy?

    • Nicole,

      I’m glad this was helpful to you! Unfortunately, what happens to you when thinking about these animals and then forgetting about it happens to many people. This is why animal cruelty is such a problem and why I want to bring this to peoples attention, so just hearing it helped you in any way makes me very happy!

      My favorite cruelty-free cosmetic brand is Bare Escentuals. Most of my make-up is from this brand and I absolutely love its bareMinerals foundation! I found Sephora stores carry many cruelty-free cosmetic brands such as Smashbox, Stila Cosmetics, Too Faced Cosmetics and Urban Decay. Bath and Body Works is also one of my favorite cruelty-free places to shop. I love buying my hand soap and lotion from there. Another interesting thing I found is that PETA also just added a new category called “working for regulatory change.” This includes companies that only conducts tests on animals that are required by law and work hard to develop and lobby for the validation of non-animal tests. The only company on this list is Colgate-Polmolive. Although Colgate is not completely cruelty-free, I buy products from this company because of the work it is doing for change.

  2. I’ve heard of that brand of makeup a lot and really need to try it! A lot of people I know use that brand, and I always hear rave reviews about it. I definitely need to check out Sephora sometime for some of those brands you mentioned above. I’m so happy to hear that Bath & Body Works is cruelty-free. One of my favorite stores!

  3. Pingback: St. Thomas Dog Blog » Blog Archive » Cosmetics Splurge

  4. hey there and thank you for your information – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this web site, since I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m
    complaining, but sluggish loading instances times
    will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your
    quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for a lot more of your respective intriguing content.

    Ensure that you update this again soon.

Leave a comment